News Item Details

2013 Summit County Education Celebration

Posted: 11/21/2013

October 28, Summit County’s 2013 All-County Teaching Team was honored during the Summit County Education Celebration at the St. George Family Center. Jim Tressel, Vice President of Student Success at the University of Akron, commended and thanked all the educators in the room for their outstanding efforts.

Former Manchester Local Schools Superintendent, Marco Burnette, was the recipient of this year’s Lifetime Educator Award. Burnette was superintendent for Manchester Local Schools for 26 years and served as a member on the Barberton City Schools Board of Education. Burnette’s achievements have been recognized with Phi Delta Kappa’s Educator of the Year Award for The University of Akron Chapter, The University of Akron Distinguished Education Alumni Award, Nolley Elementary V.I.P. Award, and inclusion in the Barberton Sports Hall of Fame.

The 2013 All-County Teaching Team members were nominated by the community and chosen to represent their school systems by a selection committee, comprised of superintendents of each Summit County school district.  The team includes (pictured below): Michelle Jones, Akron Public Schools; Melissa Walker, Barberton City Schools; Cathy Hoover, Copley-Fairlawn City Schools; John Murray Jr., Coventry Local Schools; Ryan Petraitis, Cuyahoga Falls City Schools; Irish Kuwatch, Green Local Schools; Scott Cantrell, Manchester Local Schools; Angela Francis, Mogadore Local Schools; Kathy Kotecki, Nordonia Hills City Schools; Tricia Pletcher, Norton City Schools; Maria Schlenk, Portage Lakes Career Center; Lawrence Petkovsek, Revere Local Schools; Kristine DiLauro, Springfield Local Schools; John Moyer, Stow-Munroe Falls City Schools; Lindi Long, Tallmadge City Schools; Donna Houston, Twinsburg City Schools; and Doug Greenleaf, Woodridge Local Schools; as well as the parochial schools representative, Dave Dages, St. Vincent-St. Mary High School, and the private schools representative, Cathy Shafer, Chapel Hill Christian Academy.

Twinsburg City Schools’ Donna Houston was named Teacher of the Year and the Rookie of the Year was Daniel Vincent, an intervention specialist at Barberton Middle School.

The celebration was generously sponsored by Akron Children’s Hospital, the Summit County Educational Service Center, Clear Channel Radio, Akron Beacon Journal and, Shannon English Marketing, Summit Education Initiative, FirstMerit Bank, PNC Bank, Squires Sanders, LLC, and McGowan & Markling.

2013 All County Teaching Team
2013 All County Teaching Team

2013 Rokie Nominees
2013 Rokie Nominees

2013 Lifetime Educator Award recipient Marco Burnette

Donna Houston and Daniel Vincent
Teacher of the Year Donna Houston and Rookie of the Year Daniel Vincent