News Item Details

Green's Elaine Totten Named Summit County Teacher of the Year

Posted: 10/30/2014

Summit County’s All-Star Teaching Team was honored during the 7th Annual Summit County Education Celebration, where the county’s top teachers were recognized for making a difference in the lives of local students. This year’s 2014 Summit County Teacher of the Year is high school special education teacher, Elaine Totten of Green Local Schools. The Rookie of the Year Award was presented to Chelby Codding of Woodridge Local Schools, and Dr. Jerry Pecko was honored with the Lifetime Educator Award.

“My beliefs about teaching are directly linked to my childhood experiences. Teaching must reach beyond academics. It is my obligation to pave the way for students to reach their highest potential, but I also believe this is only possible when students feel safe, supported and accepted,” said Totten, who is a 20-year teaching veteran.

2014 Award Winners
Chelby Codding, Dr. Jerry Pecko, Elaine Totten and Linda Fuline
The 2014 All-County Teaching Team members are:
  • Sandra Neidert, Akron Public Schools
  • Sydnee Ortman, Barberton City Schools
  • Amy Belles, Copley-Fairlawn Schools
  • Danny Savage, Coventry Local Schools
  • Courtney Rubino, Cuyahoga Falls City Schools
  • Elaine Totten, Green Local Schools
  • Marie Rourke, Hudson City Schools
  • Richard Harper, Manchester Local Schools
  • Matt Beresh, Mogadore Local Schools
  • Jennifer Gruber, Nordonia Hills City Schools
  • Dennis Oswald, Norton City Schools
  • Dale Dunlevy, Portage Lakes Career Center
  • Melanie Stuthard, Revere Local Schools
  • Becky Burtoft, Springfield Local Schools
  • Ed Borsuk, Stow-Munroe Falls City Schools
  • Debbie Dodson, Greater Summit County Early Learning Center (SCOPE Academy)
  • Lynn Williams, Tallmadge City Schools
  • Kristin Dehil, Twinsburg City Schools
  • Ashley Jurkowski, Woodridge Local Schools

“We recognize the passion, patience, knowledge and skills required to be among the best educators in our area and are pleased to have such a wonderful and dedicated group of teachers who care about the education and future of our students. The Education Celebration is a great opportunity for us to recognize the hard work of our teachers as well as showcase the many talented individuals we have in Summit County,” said Summit County ESC Superintendent Linda Fuline.

Educators were nominated by their community and chosen to represent their school systems by a selection committee.

As this year’s Rookie, Codding is known for her enthusiastic spirit. She teaches art at Woodridge High School

2014 All County Teaching Team
2014 All County Teaching Team
Summit County Rookies include:
  • Brittany Fox, Barberton City Schools
  • Ping Zhou, Copley-Fairlawn City Schools
  • Jacquelyn Tomblin, Coventry Local Schools
  • Suzanna Brogan, Green Local Schools
  • Laurie Wilkins, Hudson City Schools
  • Paul McMasters, Manchester Local Schools
  • Spencer Warders, Nordonia Hills City Schools
  • Jennifer Skala, Norton City Schools
  • Sarah Smith, Revere Local Schools
  • Michael Leonhardt, Springfield Local Schools
  • Kaitlin Kotecki, Stow-Munroe Falls City Schools
  • Justin Montello, Tallmadge City Schools
  • Michelle Harris, Twinsburg City Schools
  • Chelby Codding, Woodridge Local Schools

Event sponsors include the Akron Beacon Journal, Akron Children’s Hospital, Brennan, Manna & Diamond, FirstMerit, McGown & Markling, Co., LPA, PNC Financial Services, Safe Schools Helpline/Jay Morgan, Summit County Children’s Services, Summit County Developmental Disabilities board and the Summit Education Initiative, Summit County Educational Service Center and WQMX.

2014 Rookie Nominees
2014 All County Rookie Nominees