News Item Details

Field Local's Clark Bookman Named Summit County Teacher of the Year

Posted: 9/23/2015

Summit County’s All-Star Teaching Team was honored during the 8th Annual Summit County Education Celebration, where the county’s top teachers were recognized for making a difference in the lives of local students. This year’s 2015 Summit County Teacher of the Year is high school special education teacher, Elaine Totten of Field Local Schools. The Rookie of the Year Award was presented to Dina Edwards of Woodridge Local Schools, and Sam Reynolds was honored with the Lifetime Educator Award.

The 2015 All-County Teaching Team members are:
  • Kathleen Durkin, Akron Public Schools
  • Sharon Nivert, Hudson City Schools
  • David Kaser, Barberton City Schools
  • Kristin Oakes, Manchester Local Schools
  • Susan Pelton, Copley-Fairlawn City Schools
  • Heather Akins, Coventry Local Schools
  • Mary Schrenbeck, Nordonia Hills City Schools
  • Jennifer Stedman, Cuyahoga Falls City Schools
  • Ann Mayer, Norton City Schools
  • Clark Bookman, Field Local Schools
  • Debbie Snyder, Portage Lakes Career Center
  • Lisa Tweed, Holy Family School
  • Merideth Gray, Springfield Local Schools
  • Jon Bryan, Tallmadge City Schools
  • Amanda Cargoll, Stow-Munroe Falls City Schools
  • Todd Jones, Woodridge Local Schools

Educators were nominated by their community and chosen to represent their school systems by a selection committee.