News Item Details

Summit County Education Celebration held on October 18th

Posted: 10/22/2010

The Third Summit County Education Celebration was held at the University of Akron on October 18th. The audience of over 100 was fortunate to hear featured speaker, Georgette Constantinou, Ph.D. Dr. Constantinou, a licensed pediatric psychologist with Akron Children’s Hospital, focused her talk on parenting issues, child development, family dynamics, bullying and relational aggression among girls, as well as other pediatric mental health issues.

The Education Celebration brought veteran teachers and rookie teachers, to the spotlight for the evening. Each school district in Summit County, as well as one parochial school and one private school nominated their teacher of the year. From that pool, a panel selected the “Teacher of the Year.” Also, from a pool of rookie teachers nominated by districts, a “Rookie of the Year” was selected.

The Manchester Local School District made the headline for both awards. Ms. Sandra McClain, who has taught for a total of 21 years in her specialty area of Chemistry and AP Chemistry, was named “Teacher of the Year.” Sandra’s reaction to her nomination was to say “Manchester has a staff that is extraordinary and in the presence of so many outstanding educators, I am very humbled to have been chosen. This honor is a confirmation that my work with students in chemistry makes a difference.”

“Rookie of the Year” went to Ms. Rachel Schutte, who teaches reading and literature at Manchester Middle School. The best advice she was ever given was “that attitude makes a difference in everything you do” and she always strives to bring a positive attitude to her classrooms.

To conclude the evening, Dr. Harold Wilson retired superintendent of the Cuyahoga Falls City Schools was honored as the “Lifetime Educator Achievement Award” recipient. Dr. Wilson was unable to make the celebration due to illness. Dr. Wilson’s career as an educator spans more than 30 years and continues today as Professor of Educational Leadership in the doctoral program at Ashland University. He was superintendent at Cuyahoga Falls Schools for 23 years.

A complete list of the Summit County All-County Teaching Team, as well as the Rookie of the Year nominees, is listed below.

2010 All County Teaching Team
2010 All-County Teaching Team

Sandra McClain and Rachel Schutte
Teacher of the Year Sandra McClain and Rookie of the Year Rachel Schutte

Teacher of the Year Nominees

  • Pamela Cicora, Hatton Elementary
  • James Jensen, Highland Middle School
  • Carrie Roseberry, Copley-Fairlawn Middle School
  • Melissa Carr, Turkeyfoot Elementary School
  • Rosemarie Millin, Cuyahoga Falls High School
  • Stan Darrah, Green High School
  • Shaun Gaskin, Hudson Middle School
  • Sandra McClain, Manchester High School
  • Faye Maholm, Mogadore High School
  • Lisa Dressig, Nordonia High School
  • John Pritchard, Norton Middle School
  • Patricia Elliott, Portage Lakes Career Center
  • Alan Silvidi, Revere High School
  • Holly Reed, Schrop Intermediate School
  • David Barone II, Lakeview Intermediate School
  • Jennie Green, Tallmadge Middle School
  • Laura Dorland, Bissell Elementary School
  • Leah Norris, Woodridge High School
  • Monica Denowski, St. Matthew Parish School
  • Terri Weaver, Chapel Hill Christian School

Rookie Teacher of the Year Nominees

  • Jerami Hodgkinson, Coventry Local Schools
  • Rahel Schutte, Manchester Local Schools
  • Jacob Schwendiman, Norton City Schools
  • Cory Kendrick, Portage Lakes Career Center
  • Cheri Carder, Twinsburg City Schools