News Item Details

2018 Summit Educational Service Center Education Celebration

Posted: 11/16/2018

ESC Recognizes Summit County’s Top Educators at 2018 Education Celebration   

CUYAHOGA FALLS, OH – (November 15, 2018) – The Summit Educational Service Center (ESC) recognized the top educators in Summit County at the 2018 Education Celebration on Friday, Oct. 23, at Guy’s Party Center in Akron.

This annual event recognizes Summit County educators who are making a difference in their students’ lives. During the event, the Teacher of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Lifetime Educator award winners are announced. Each award recipient was nominated by parents and educators for their dedication in the classroom, commitment to the school system and desire to go above and beyond for each individual child.

The educator selected as the 2018 Teacher of the Year was Mark Horner, a psychology and US history instructor in the Tallmadge City School District, and the Rookie of the Year selected was Stacey Stassinis, a teacher in the Manchester Local School District. The Lifetime Educator award was presented to Kimberly Rawson, a retired teacher from the Cuyahoga Falls City School District.

“This is a very special event that the entire ESC staff looks forward to every year,” said Summit ESC Superintendent Joseph Iacano. “The educators who were honored at the Education Celebration go above and beyond to make an impact on the lives of their students. Our nominees and award winners are a great representation of the outstanding professionalism of the educators in Summit County. They are truly deserving of this recognition.”

To qualify for Teacher of the Year, an educator must have more than three years of teaching experience in Summit County. Teachers in Summit County who have less than three years of experience can be nominated under the Rookie of the Year category. Teachers who have spent their entire career in education can be nominated for the Lifetime Achievement Award.

This year’s event was sponsored by the Akron Area School Superintendent’s Association, Akron Beacon Journal, Brennan Manna & Diamond, Huntington Bank, Michelle Carter Photography, Summit Education Initiative (SEI), and Walter Haverfield.

“We are grateful that with the support of our sponsors, we can take the time to celebrate the accomplishments of our educators,” Iacano continued. “Congratulations to the 2018 award recipients!”

Click here to view photo gallery of the event.