News Item Details

Summit County Teachers Recognized

Posted: 11/9/2012

What a teacher writes on the blackboard of life can never be erased ~Author Unknown

Several Summit County educators were honored during the October 15, 2012 5th Annual Summit County Education Celebration at the University of Akron's Quaker Station. The event recognized educators throughout the county and Teachers were nominated by individuals from the community who offered praise about the teachers' achievements and their impact on their school district. Nominees were named to the Teaching Team by a committee comprised of Summit County school district superintendents and a representative from each major sponsor. The evening began with Kenmore Madrigal Singers led by Barb Bellamy joyfully entertaining guests. This year's Key Note Speaker was Summit County Educational Service Center's own Educational Consultant, Jolene Reinhart who delivered a motivating and inspiring "Passion with a Purpose" message introducing the audience to Caine's Arcade.

The 2012 All-County Teaching Team consisted of 20 Summit County teachers, included: John Bennett of Akron Public Schools; Jennifer Prentiss of Barberton City Schools; David Edmonds, of Copley-Fairlawn City Schools; Kathleen Parker, Coventry Local Schools; Steve Newlon, Cuyahoga Falls City Schools; Patty Berardi, Green Local Schools; Steve Vanderchie, Hudson City Schools; Michael Ankrom, Manchester Local Schools; Jennifer Ritch, Mogadore Local Schools; Crystal Dangler, Nordonia Hills City Schools; James McBride, of Norton City Schools; Kirk Raymond, Portage Lakes Career Center; Bob Pierson, of Revere Local Schools; Dena Scrimo, Springfield Local Schools; Kelly Lanci, Stow-Munroe Falls City Schools; Justin Christopher, Tallmadge City Schools; Leslie Smith, Twinsburg City Schools; Mary Ann Krawczonek, of Woodridge Local Schools; parochial school teacher Jennifer Smee, of Our Lady of the Elms Elementary School; and private school teacher Erik Korvn, of Old Trail School.

The Teacher of the Year Award was presented to Michael Ankrom, who has spent 21 years teaching at Manchester High School. Michael's teaching philosophy is to "treat all students with respect, be fair, show them you care, do not play favorites and use multiple teaching strategies that make what the students are learning relevant to their lives."

The Rookie of the Year Award — presented to a teacher with less than three years of teaching experience who displays a passion, innovation and commitment to students' learning was received by Maureen Farris, who is in her second year of teaching third and fourth grades at Woodridge Intermediate School. Superintendent Walter Davis describes Farris as "a joyful person who creates a positive and nurturing atmosphere for learning." She has participated on the Building Leadership Team, the Celebrations of Learning Committee, the Continuous Improvement Plan Committee and many more school initiatives.

The Lifetime Educator Award recognizes a business, organization or individual who has been dedicated and committed to the education of youth in Summit County over a long period of time. This year, awards were presented to both an individual and a business. The 2012 Individual Lifetime Educator Award was presented to Daniel McCombs, chairman of the Ohio Retired Teachers Association's Legislative Committee. The 2012 Business Lifetime Educator Award was presented to 98.1 WKDD, Mark Boarman, VP and Marketing Manager for Clear Channel accepted the award on WKDD's behalf.

The Summit County Superintendents Association awarded $200 scholarships to the Teacher of the Year and Rookie of the Year Award recipients to purchase educational items for their classrooms.

The Summit County Educational Service Center would like to thank this year's sponsors for their generous support: The University of Akron, Akron Children's Hospital, 98.1 WKDD, 640 WHLO, 1350am Sports Radio, Akron Beacon Journal, SummaCare, PNC Bank, First Merit Bank, McGown&Markling Co. LPA, Squires Sanders, Summit Education Initiative, Connections Education, Summit County Superintendents' Association, Ohio Tuition and Trust, Summit County Children's Services and Shannon English Marketing.

Maureen Farris, Rookie of the Year; Mark Boarman, Lifetime Educator of the Year, Business; Linda Fuline, Daniel McCombs, Lifetime Educator of the Year, Individual; Michael Ankrom, Teacher of the Year

Daniel McCombs
Daniel McCombs, recipient of the Lifetime Educator Award, Individual

Daniel McCombs
The 2012 All-County Teaching Team